Your thoughts on this ammo? .223

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by DickTheNickhead, Jul 6, 2013.

1. DickTheNickhead

DickTheNickhead New Member

55 grain
    American eagle

I'm building my first AR as we speak.
    16" mid length has system 1:7 twist.
    I'm new to all of this. I was wondering if this ammo is a rip off or a good deal..

100 rounds for $59
    ???

Attached Files:

2. DickTheNickhead

I'm just buying it for range practice and getting acquainted with my new firearm...
    I will of course try out other grains and other ammo manufacturers but wanted to hear if any of you have shot this...

3. MisterMcCool

MisterMcCool Well-Known Member Supporter

4. armysharpshooter

armysharpshooter New Member

If you shop around you can find .223/5.56 at bulk prices. The 55 grain federal stuff is same/same military ball ammo.

5. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

I view American eagle from a standpoint of the gun. If your gun can run it without issue you're in good shape. Lol

6. DickTheNickhead

Yeah, American eagle is brass.

I also picked up some of this PMC.
    Brass. 55gr.
    Decent?

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jul 6, 2013
  7. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

Honestly IMO (again) It's not bad.

8. purehavoc

purehavoc New Member

Dude , stop talking and go shoot :D . Sorry I'm on a roll today

9. GTX63

GTX63 New Member

I've seen American Eagle for $49 per 100 just recently. I shoot it on occasion and it does just fine. It's hard to be picky about what brand you use in this day and age, but I bought my 6920 and my RRA to shoot whatever I put in them without any backtalk.

10. DickTheNickhead

Me?
    Well, I wish.
    Except I'm still in the building process. I have EVERYTHING I need, EXCEPT my lower. I pick it up on Friday. I'll complete the build that morning then head to the range in the afternoon!

11. Bevo

Bevo New Member