XD VS Glock 19

Discussion in 'Semi-Auto Handguns' started by iVTEC, Oct 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iVTEC

iVTEC New Member

I am really stuck on a 9mm XD after shooting my buddies, but I haven't shot a Glock 19 yet. I went to a local gun shop here and fell in love with the way the Glock 19's feel and size. I'm still a gun noob, so does anyone have some input they want to give me? :eek:

IMO the XD looks way better, but I think the Glock 19 is going to be the smarter choice.

2. SGT-MILLER

SGT-MILLER New Member

My personal opinion would be to go with the Glock 19. The Glock has a more proven track record. The XD has a grip safety, but in today's time, a grip safety is a little outdated IMHO. Grip safety originated back when mounted calvary was still on horses, and the grip safety helped keep the gun from firing if it was dropped and banging against the horse (most common calvary pistols had lanyards). It was known as the "dead man's safety". It kept the weapon from shooting the horse or rider unintentionally. Basically the grip safety is sometimes used as a gimmick these days by the firearms manufacturers.

The XD does shoot reliably, though. I am not a big fan, but if it feels very comfortable to you shooting, that may be an omen that the XD is the gun for you.

If you want to truthfully look at things though, the XD in reality is just a knock-off of the Glock (I'm gonna hurt some feelings around here with that sentence....lol).

3. KellyTTE

KellyTTE New Member

+1 on the G19. Parts and service are more widely available as well. Since XD's are imported, and major problems have to go back to SA quite often. Getting factory parts (not aftermarket stuff) is kinda tough for the XD as well.

4. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

Well, I would say you should probably shoot the Glock and see if what you think holds water.