XD rear sight adjustment ???

Discussion in 'XD Forum' started by fins59, Dec 28, 2011.

1. fins59

fins59 New Member

Can the rear sight on an XD be adjusted with ordinary tools such as a brass punch & hammer? Or do I need something more specialized? Or send it off?
    I only mention punch & hammer cause that's what a local shop says they're gonna use. Not so sure I like the sound of that.
    Any input would be much appreciated. Thanks.

2. orangello

orangello New Member

I have no firsthand experience with hammer adjusting my rear sights on my XD45, but i have read that the sights are set pretty tightly on the XD's. IIRC, there was some tool that was better than the hammerinpunch; i'm thinking it was something like the adjustment tool for my SKS front sight, but i am not certain.

3. pagj17

pagj17 New Member

Op... I wouldn't frquent them for gunsmiting services! Yikes.:)

4. partdeux

partdeux Well-Known Member

My XDM9 sights were so tight, I couldn't move them with a reasonably hard hit with the hammer/punch.

5. JonM

JonM Moderator

a proper sight pusher runs about 140$ for the xd/m and most other semi autos.

unless your doing it for a living or are going to be doing it a lot on a fleet of xd/m's its best to find a qualified xd/m gunsmith or send it to springfield custom shop for zeroing.

personally i wouldnt use the drift method with a punch on a xdm the sights are set very very tight.

Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  6. fins59

fins59 New Member

Guess I'll keep shooting to make absolutely sure it ain't me (which it could be). Then if it is the sights I'll have to send it off or buy a tool. Can't seem to locate anyone local yet.

7. orangello

orangello New Member

http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/diagnosis-handgun-inaccuracy-53591/

I would try resting on a sand bag or something to steady me up & get consistent groupings to identify the problem. There is a chart in that link that shows what small problems can do to your shot placement.