Wolf Gold?

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by Artie1957, Jun 18, 2016.

1. Artie1957

Artie1957 Member

I am new to the AR world, I just bought my first one in 5.56. Does anyone use this ammunition? I can get it for around .32 cents a bullet.
    Pros? Cons?
    I read somewhere that the bullets are bi-metal and can be bad for your barrel.

Is there a better deal out there for 223/5.56 ammo?
    Any help would be appreciated.

2. FrontierTCB

FrontierTCB Active Member

Wolf Gold or PMC bronze is probably the cheapest most reliable you can get before you downgrade to steel cased, which is a different can of worms for another day.

WG and PMC shoot fine for range duty.

Do yourself a favor and checkout Freedom Munitions. I prefer them to either of the others and they are same price range if not cheaper.

Whatever you decide to do just get after it. I have a feeling in one week factory ammo will be harder to find and much higher. This is moving fast.

Edit: For instance Wed. evening I was going to grab one last case of Wolf Gold from SGammo for $279.00 for 1,000 rds. Power went out during storm and I didn't order.
    Next day (Thur) it was sold out. Yesterday ( Fri) it was back @ $309.99. Not outrageous but a decent jump in 48hrs. Ordered my last case from Freedom. I have enough to last me a long time. I won't order anymore unless it is some smokin deal or something.

Sent from a phone I can use to do my taxes, but can't make a damn call.

Last edited: Jun 18, 2016

3. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

Not all Wolf ammo is the same. Wolf is just an importer. The last Wolf Gold I bought was made by Prvi Partisan and used reloabable brass cases and copper jacketed bullets.

Wolf has different lines of ammo and each is made by different manufacturers.

4. noylj

noylj Member

If you didn't learn when Clinton was elected, you should have learned when Obama was elected. Otherwise, wait a few weeks and see where you are...