Winchester or Remington

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by sola7, Apr 26, 2011.

1. sola7

sola7 New Member

Hello all, I'm looking at adding a shotgun to my collection. I'm a little ignorant about shotguns. Im looking for a good home defense and general use gun. Im looking at the Remington 870 and the Winchester SPX defender. Anyone have any thoughts or opinions. Much appreciated.

2. Wambli

Wambli New Member

The beauty of the Remington is that like AR's there are an unlimited amount of accessories out there that allow you to make your shotgun into anything you want/need. I have no experience with the Winchester SPX

3. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

The Remy 870 is a very solid, well built, easy to use, easy to take down and easy to modify weapon. Parts can be had practically everywhere and everyone in the gunsmithing realm is familiar with them should you need help.

The Winchester SXP is A newer line of lighter weight shotguns that offers both a pump and a semi if memory serves. They are not "brand new" but they are not as combat and time tested as the 870.

Personally I don't like a light weight shotgun, especially in a 12 gauge, but I don't bird hunt either. My shotgun has a purpose and that is short term area clearing should a need arise, so a little extra weight doesn't bother me.

For my money, I would recommend the 870.

Good luck and keep us informed.

JD

4. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

By all appearances, the SXP seems to be an updated 1300. This is an excellent shotgun. Far faster to cycle than an 870 and IMHO a superior design. As far as "combat proven", these are essentially the updated version of the Winchester 1200's issued to the US armed forces in the 60's. They did see action in Vietnam.

I would have no hesitation in purchasing one.

The 870 has sufferred from QC issues of late. The Mossberg 590 is supplanting the 870 as the shoulder arm of choice for US LE agencies.

5. sola7