Why no Buckshot for hunting?

Discussion in 'Hunting Forum' started by pumpkinball, Dec 28, 2010.

1. pumpkinball

pumpkinball New Member

Okay...
    Uhhmmmm...
    I'm confused...
    Tennessee doesn't allow hunting large game with buckshot.
    Uhhhh.......
    Isn't that why they call it "buckshot"?
    I mean some good 00 is approximately the same as multiple 38 caliber rounds, give or take a little.
    And it's legal to hunt deer with any center fire weapon as long as the BBL is a minimum of 4".
    So what's the deal with this?
    I'm still fairly new to TN, so any locals know the reasoning behind this?
    Or any of you non-Tennesseeans have the same law?
    I do prefer to hunt with slugs, but some 00 would be nice for the closer range shots though.
    Maybe it's just me, but I think this is about crazy.
    :confused:

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2011
  2. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

Buickshot is just a name someone hung on large pellet shot loads. I guess to differentiate it from birdshot.

Maybe PC ruled 100 years ago. They did not want to call it "Manshot".

Buckshot is very devistating against very thin skinned targets, really large varmints...aka people. The penetration is notoriously shallow on larger medium skinned game like deer. I feel it is inhumane to hunt deer with buckshot.

3. billdeserthills

billdeserthills New Member

Yeah, so buy slugs. Plenty of varieties to look at too, I even have some in the shop from Brown Bear- Russian made, I guess, it sure does kick on the shoulder side!

4. doctherock

doctherock New Member

They have some nice hollow-point ammo for the Shotguns now, wonder if they are legal for deer.

5. TimL2952

TimL2952 New Member