Where to Keep my Home Protection Pistol.

Discussion in 'Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection' started by cmorrow781, Sep 2, 2013.

1. cmorrow781

cmorrow781 New Member

I am new to owning weapons. I have a GP100 357/38 sp. and a Ruger Mark II.
    I have them in a locked case in my closet right now. My concerns are 1) I have children and I want them locked but I also want the 357 easily accessed for home defense. 2) Keeping them in my closet seems like the ideal place for a burglar to see the case and just take my guns easily if there was ever a break in and we were not home. I guess I am just fishing for advice on where I can keep my home defense gun. My thought was to obviously have a larger gun safe but I just can't afford one right now. Any suggestions?

Thanks

2. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

best suggestion is one of the biometric pistol gun safes. they allow you fast access to you pistol and can be programmed to whomever you wish to have access. they are not too terribly expensive. my brother has one, because he has two young daughters.

3. Rick1967

Rick1967 Well-Known Member

I have a cheap safe I bought at harbor freight for something like $29. It is bolted to the shelf in my closet. It would not stop a determined burglar. But it would stop the kids.

I also have night stands that have a hidden drawer inside of another drawer. If you don't already know it is there...you wouldn't find it. Very cool. I leave my carry gun in there at night. I take it with me every morning.

4. Rick1967

Rick1967 Well-Known Member

Attached Files:

5. Anna_Purna

Anna_Purna New Member

Then bolt it to the walls and or floor also

6. kaido

kaido New Member

7. glocknloaded

glocknloaded New Member

A larger gun safe can be hard to swing at times and I understand but I think it's extremely important. Maybe not a 24 gun but something solid that can be bolted down.