Where is the powder?

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by marksman957, Nov 15, 2013.

1. marksman957

marksman957 New Member

I am new to reloading shotshells for target, skeet, trap, sporting clays, and I cannot find powder in stock anywhere. I am looking for Alliant American Select specifically. None of the larger online retailers have it and being in NJ no local retailers bother anymore. Any ideas? I know that ammo is still in relatively short supply all around, is this just a symptom of that problem? Should I return my MEC? I want to get this underway.

2. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

I have seen an increased availablity of Red Dot and Green Dot lately. Blue Dot is still scarce, though I happened upon 3 lbs at a local supplier.

Alliant is working 24/7 and cannot keep up with demand. Folks are STILL stockpiling

3. 303tom

303tom Well-Known Member

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/2184135390/alliant-herco-smokeless-powder

4. noylj

noylj Member

Check ThirdGenerationShootingSupply and PowderValley. Both are currently out. Lohmanarms appears to have 4lb containers available.
    I've been looking for Power Pistol for over a year and keep wondering if Alliant is even making it any more or if they are only making the powders that are most in demand.
    Right now, as it has been since O was re-elected, you pretty much have to be flexible and take whatever powder you can find that will work.
    In your case, shotgun loads tend to be very specific in terms of powder to be used with a specific shell and wad.
    If you have a trap and skeet club nearby, you might check if they have any powder.

Last edited: Nov 16, 2013
  5. locutus

locutus Well-Known Member Supporter

Sportsman's Warehouse usually has Red Dot and Green Dot. Both are excellent shotshell powders.

6. marksman957

marksman957 New Member