Where is it legal to shoot that is not a range?

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by GREGULON, Jan 24, 2012.

1. GREGULON

GREGULON New Member

I am trying too be as lawful as I can but have no true idea of where I am able to go and discharge my weapon for practice other than a range that is frankly not cheap. Plus I would like to train more than just sitting at one end and firing at another. What kind of area is it really going to take for me to practice some of the drills I am studying? I live in Oregon FYI.

2. jon1992d

jon1992d New Member

Im gonna jump in on this. I am interested to know the answer aswell.

3. oscar615

oscar615 New Member

National forests

4. seanch

seanch New Member

Do you or anyone you know have a lot of land?

5. gmaster456

gmaster456 New Member

If you know of anyone who lives outside of city limits (the country) ask them if it would be ok to shoot on their property. Maybe do a few favors for them (yard work etc.) in return.

6. GREGULON

GREGULON New Member

National forest area seem good but how do I find out where the boarders are?

7. oscar615

oscar615 New Member

Pick up a map. The borders will be marked and the area will be shaded, usually green.

Or just go by the nearest forest service office. They will have maps, more than likely for free. While there you can ask them about any specific rules to your area. Like being a 100 feet from a road etc. Or try calling them if you don't know where an office is located.

8. orangello

orangello New Member

Around here, old oil well sites (NOT PUMPING WELLS), are a great place to go once you know who owns it. They often have large dirt piles that make a decent backstop. In your area, you could probably look for little owls and shutdown lumber yards outside of town. I have found it wise to ask FIRST when you will be generating sounds of gunfire. Probably want to pick up those cases too.

edit* are you related to Calculon? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calculon#Calculon