Where do you buy your ammo?

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by sweeper22, Aug 1, 2009.

1. sweeper22

sweeper22 New Member

I'm still pretty new to the whole firearm game, and not invested to the point where pressing my own bullets is anything I'm exploring. As far as hundguns go, I've got a Sig p226 that shoots 357sig, 40sw, and 22lr, and a CZ 75b in 9mm. I'm just curious what some of you more experienced folks have found to be the best options for purchasing ammo?

Thus far I've got most of my ball at Walmart and BiMart (a Pacific NW chain) and most of my HP online through Ammo To Go and TDS. I'm all for supporting the local gun shops, but not at the point of paying 50% more for rounds.

2. Cnynrat

Cnynrat New Member

Wal Mart is a good source if they have any in stock. Down here in SoCal that's been pretty hit or miss lately, and all the stores have imposed a 6 item per day limit for ammo.

SurplusAmmo.com and Palmetto State Armory are a couple other good online sources.

3. mrm14

mrm14 Active Member

As I have gotten away from cheap Mil surplus ammo quite some years ago I usually buy from local sporting good stores when on sale. Lately not much "on sale". However, I do find .308 Win. for as cheap as $14.00 a box and .223 for around $8.00 a box from time to time. Usually PMC or Remington brand for .223 and Winchester brand for .308.

4. tookalisten

tookalisten New Member

My local gun store has a good selection and I like to purchase and get solid advice from the local guy; I also buy from Cabelas and Natchez for bulk buys - when available.

5. WDB

WDB New Member

Walmart is a good place to find range rounds. My local range seems to do there best to offer good range and personal defense rounds at a reasonalbe price but found if I am looking to buy in volume on line is the best. I buy from Cabelas or Cheaper than dirt

6. Jo da Plumbr

Jo da Plumbr New Member

Any where I can find it right now.

7. JoshX3Magazine

JoshX3Magazine New Member