When all was well

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by sbeezy, Jul 14, 2013.

1. sbeezy

sbeezy New Member

So I'm not really new to shooting, but I am pretty new to gun ownership. I bought my first firearm last November, just before everything went to hell in a hand basket. I bought a .22 and along with it a box of ammo. I didn't go look for the ammo, the salesman went and got it, so I never really looked at what all was in stock. Shortly after, sandy hook happened and every shelf was empty.

So my question is, after that lengthy preface, what was it like before all of this? Was ammo plentiful and the roads paved with gold? Could you just walk in any store that sold ammo and find what you needed? If so, will those days return? I'm tired of feeling like I'm always on the hunt just to feed my guns, and usually coming up short.

And sorry in advance if this has been covered or asked.

2. bigjim

bigjim New Member

Yep that is what it was like. I about 30 to 60 days all will be back to normal but the prices will be a little bit higher.

Jim

3. sbeezy

sbeezy New Member

I'm looking forward to that. The prices won't mean as much to me as I didnt know what they were like before. I think that first brick of .22 was like 18 bucks for 500 rounds.

4. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

I remember a time when a box of .22 cost $.50.
    (And a gallon of gas was cheaper.)

5. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Long, long ago, in a galaxy far, far away......

Matter of fact, it was a Ford Galaxy 500- we used to drive over to the local gun shop OR hardware store OR Sears OR Montgomery Wards OR JC Penney OR,...well you get the idea.

LOTS of places sold guns- and ammo. Small stores. BIG stores. Not tucked away in some corner. Right over there in Sporting Goods, just beyond the basketballs, but before the fly rods.