What's a good starter barrel?

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by PeeceKeeper, Feb 16, 2012.

1. PeeceKeeper

PeeceKeeper New Member

Greetings forum!

This is my first post of what I believe will be many. I am just getting into the gun field with an AR-15. I pick up my lower this Saturday! For those that are curious, it's a(n) S&W M&P15 stripped lower.

Anyways, I'm unsure of where to find a barrel. There are so many out there! What brands are of decent quality for a starter? I don't want total garbage because I do plan on keeping this barrel for a while before I upgrade it again.

Here's what I know I want so far:

1. 20" Rifle barrel
    2. Threaded
    3. Front sight doesn't matter as I'm going to replace it with an aftermarket gas block. (I don't have a specific gas block in mind yet, so size [diameter] doesn't have a factor at this point)
    4. Looking for a reputable place; preferably a place where you guys/gals have done business with in the past.
    5. Obviously I'm looking into a budget barrel, I'm pretty sure I can't afford a match-barrel ;P lol

There's basically what I'm looking for. So if you can point me in the right direction I'd be grateful!

Thanks in advance!
    -PeeceKeeper

2. purehavoc

purehavoc New Member

3. PeeceKeeper

PeeceKeeper New Member

Wow, that sounds tempting, but I was looking more for JUST the barrel. I'm trying to stay away from kits and going at this head on. A LPK is probably the only exception. But again, very nice post ;)

4. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

Why mess around w/ a "starter barrel"? That is often a term given to something of lesser quality. There isn't much of if any real price difference b/w the 2. Check out White Oak Armament, Daniel Defense, PAS's FN barrels, BCM, Ranier Arms.

5. PeeceKeeper

PeeceKeeper New Member

Thanks MJ, and I agree with you. By saying "starter barrel" I was misleading. What I meant was a decent barrel for a decent price. I will look up those that you mentioned.