What's A Good, Budget "Non-Assault" Rifle?

Discussion in 'Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion' started by ryevick, Feb 24, 2011.

1. ryevick

ryevick Member

I am looking to get a few firearms (shotgun, rifle, pistol) for security mostly. I hope to make this a one-time purchase and pray I don't become addicted to them during my "getting to know you" period with my guns. I am very new to all of this so please keep that in mind.

What is a good budget semi-auto rifle that is not classified as an "assault rifle"? I don't want any legal headaches if someone does get hurt, God forbid. I would like something with stopping power but I also don't want a round that can't be stopped. I would guess anything over 200-300 yards would be overkill but you folks would know better than I would. I was looking at the 7.62x39 round but I would think that would be strictly an "assault" rifle round... but then again, I have no idea. Any recommendations?

Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  2. JonM

JonM Moderator

AR15's make excellent medium range defense rifles. and no they are not assault rifles. an assault rifle is a select fire weapon used by military forces to arm light infantry used in an a frontal assault role. you cannot purchase an assault rifle without lots of nfa paperwork, a hefty 300$ tax stamp, and about 12,000$. so pretty much any magazine fed rifle you find in a gunstore will suit your purpose just fine.

3. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter

You're talking about an SUR, a sport utility rifle. An SKS is very inexpensive and ammunition is cheap. An AR type or possibly a Mini 14 or a Mini 30 could fit the bill.

An M1A or a FAL would be awesome, but they are somewhat heavy battle rifles. However, they can definitely reach out and touch stuff.

We can help you better if you could be a bit more specific.

4. SilenceDogood

SilenceDogood New Member