What would you buy next?

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by jhbwolverine, Aug 20, 2011.

1. jhbwolverine

jhbwolverine New Member

This isn't specifically a long gun question, but there's no 'general questions' forum, and it does deal with long guns some, so I'll ask here.

My wife and I have been shooting now for about six months. So far, we own a Browning Buckmark, a Springfield XDM 9mm, and a lever action .22LR Henry Golden Boy. We mostly shoot for fun, though we both appreciate the personal protection aspects of owning firearms.

So given our situation, what sort of gun would you buy next? Budget is not a huge issue. We can afford maybe $1000 every 3-4 months. I'm thinking about maybe getting something like an AR-15 eventually, and possibly a shotgun at some point (though at the moment I have nowhere I know of that I could shoot one). We've debated about whether we are getting concealed carry permits, but that's out of the question for close to a year, since we're moving in 3-4 months to another state, and you must be a resident for 6 months before you apply.

So what would be next on your list?

2. AleksiR

AleksiR New Member

I was going to say a 12g shotgun, but since you can't train with at the moment I´d get the AR. A good bolt action can be a lot of fun too, but the AR will fill the HD role much better :D

3. jhbwolverine

jhbwolverine New Member

What would you suggest would be a good AR. Looking around here it seems like a lot of people build their own, but I'm not sure I want to try something quite that ambitious yet.

4. quigleysharps4570

quigleysharps4570 New Member

Ever get the extra money...a Shiloh Sharps chambered in 50-90 has been on my list for a long time.

5. sputnik1988

sputnik1988 Active Member