What would be a good Trap Shooting gun?

Discussion in 'Competition Shooting' started by Delicious, Sep 2, 2010.

1. Delicious

Delicious New Member

Well I am planing on joining my schools trap team. I have alot of experience shooting pistols and rifles but not really to much shotguns. I wanted to know what would be a good deal for a gun. at practice I shot our coaches person Mossberg 590. I was looking at the 870 classic, a Tristar semi, or the Stoeger P-350, and I have a budget of about 300ish.

Any tips would be great. Also I wanted to know what would be the quickest to reload, and what to store shells in while at the range. All advice is welcomed.

Thanks,
    Lucas

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2010
  2. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Well, you CAN use just about any shotgun, and I am not an expert at skeet or trap- but some thoughts for you-

Most shooters seem to like the over/ under shotguns for the swing. If your budget can stretch a little, you might find a Stoeger Condor close to your price range. Look hard at USED shotguns (old guns neeed love too)

As far as speed of reload, you have two shots (you guys throwing triples or something?) Nothing reloads any faster than a break action shotgun with EJECTORS. Break the action, empties go BOOP, stick two shells into the two chambers, close action, continue to march.

What holds shells at the range? Why, my gunbearer, of course. But he uses a shell bag. Shoulder strap, hangs at waist.

Oh- and stay with me- important concept coming up here- why not ask your coach what his thoughts are?

Last edited: Sep 2, 2010

3. M14sRock

M14sRock New Member

The true Trap Weenies, uh... I mean dedicated Trap Professionals, use dedicated Trap guns. In the US they are typically single barrel, high rib types.

But to learn the game, any good quality field grade gun will work. You can get an 870, and then look around for a Trap stock and a Trap bbl at your leisure.