What to buy

Discussion in 'Revolver Handguns' started by JolietGunner, Mar 12, 2013.

1. JolietGunner

JolietGunner New Member

Im looking for a good but not expensive revolver.Its mostly for home defense and shooting range any suggestions?

2. orangello

orangello New Member

I really enjoy my Ruger GP100 (357mag/38spcl) at the range, and it would be pretty impressive for home defense. You can use less expensive little .38spcl at the range for soft-shooting plinking fun, and you can use some scary .357mag loads for HD.

3. jrl78

jrl78 New Member

I'd go with a .357 Smith and Wesson loaded with 2 or 3 rounds of snake shot. Good all around revolver, good knock down power, the first few rounds of snake shot should be enough get someone out of your way and If not you'll still have the next few rounds of .357 to put them down with. Just my opinion, I'm no expert.

4. eatmydust

eatmydust New Member

S&W revolvers are expensive these days, even the used ones. I'd look for a Taurus or Rossi. I've never shot either, I have 2 S&Ws, but I'd consider them if I was in the market today.

5. jrl78

jrl78 New Member

That's true, they are up there in price.

6. DrumJunkie

DrumJunkie New Member

Last two used Smiths (Mod 19 & 28) I got where under 500 bucks. But if I was looking to save on a new revolver I"d definitely go with the Ruger GP100. They are built like a tank and have no problem with a full house load. The ability to use 38s to save a little money on practice ammo is nice too.:)

7. txpossum

txpossum New Member

How "not expensive" do you need it to be? Look for a good, used S&W, Ruger, or Colt. A .38 special will usually be significantly cheaper than a .357 (which, of course, shoots both). Several people here will disagree with me, but I don't see anything wrong with a .22 as a first revolver -- fun, inexpensive to shoot, and, I think, can also function adequately as a home self defense gun. I know I wouldn't want to get shot with one.