What range should I zero my .22 at?

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by michaelwahl, Sep 8, 2011.

1. michaelwahl

michaelwahl New Member

I'm new to shooting and I recently bought a remington 597 and put an osprey scope on it. I was just wondering where I should zero it in at? I've heard 60 yards, some say 100 yards. I don't know how much the bullet drops at 100 yards for sure but someone told me around 7 inches. Someone give me an idea please.

2. unclebear

unclebear New Member

depends on what you need, the scope I have that I use on my 22 is sighted in at 50 yards dead on. I only use the scope for hunting rabbits, squirrels, and muskrats, I use iron for everything else.

3. michaelwahl

michaelwahl New Member

I'm just wondering what would be ideal? Probably between 50-75 yrds?

4. Poink88

Poink88 New Member

The ideal is, as stated above, depends on you or your intended use. If you will be taking 100 yard shots then that is the ideal. If you are taking 30 yards, then...

5. ninjatoth

ninjatoth New Member

.22's don't shoot very flat which means the bullet rises a bit in a very short range then begins to drop,so if you sighted it in for lets say 100 yards,you would be really really high at say 25 yards,just keep that in mind if you want to hunt with it or something.I'd say 50 yards is more ideal for a .22.

6. canebrake

canebrake New Member

Zero it at 50 yards.

7. michaelwahl

michaelwahl New Member

Thank you.

8. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

For .22 LR, as the man said- 50 yards.

9. canebrake

canebrake New Member

You're welcome. Get it zeroed in and shoot the snot out of it.

If you find 50 yards is not your optimal distance, re-zero.

It all comes with accumulated trigger time. Plus our shooting style/preference changes with experience.

Come back to this thread when you find your "happy place" sight-in distance.

10. SgtSam

SgtSam New Member