What pistol would you suggest?

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by WDB, Dec 10, 2010.

1. WDB

WDB New Member

Often there is a post someone new to pistols asking what to buy. Here is a new twist, an experienced shooter asking what should I consider? I have a fair amount of training. I have been carrying concealed for 15+ years. I make it to the range at least twice a month. Over the years I have carried revolvers and semi autos, .380, .38spl, .357, 9mm, .40 and .45 acp. I believe all are good calibers (well maybe not the .380 but it fits in a pocket easy). I have never carried a pistol I didn’t believe could save my life with out question if needed. Steel frame or polly frame each have there benefits and I like them both. Capacity isn’t a major concern as I don’t live in a war zone and I’m reasonably confidant with my shot placement at a threat distance (15 yards/45 feet for me). I’m also a lefty strong side but practice weak side as well. Caliber has to be something readily available as I want reasonable priced ammo for practice and several options for defense ammo. I carry an S&W M&P 45 now; it has severed me well for several years and thinking about retiring her to the locker with honors. I don’t know if I will make a change but with the brain trust here I expect I will be checking out some new pistols. Price has to be under $800

2. Alchemist

Alchemist New Member

These days, I'm really liking the Kahr Polymers and the Walther PPS in 9 and .40. They're all nearly identical in size, capacity, performance and proven reliability. They're all light, well-balanced and "handy"... Kahr CW series is lowest in cost. If you're interested in even smaller/easily concealed... the Kahr PM's are really popular now.

3. doctherock

doctherock New Member