What grain bullet for whitetail

Discussion in 'Hunting Forum' started by bigred61, Sep 3, 2013.

1. bigred61

bigred61 New Member

Going on my first whitetail hunt this October, pretty exciting. I am actually pretty new to the whole hunting scene in general. This will be my second season going, first season shooting ;)

Anyway I am going to be using my AR. I know there is a lot of discussion about hunting with .223/5.56. That is not the purpose of this post though. I am confident in my shooting ability and will be working at max 200yds.

So my question is about grain size, 55 seems to be the standard, I was thinking a 65 or even 70 grain 5.56 would be good? I dont know if they even make them that heavy. I also worry about velocity, will the heavier grain shorten my effective range?

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Ashton

2. Shade

Shade New Member

First make sure you can use .223 Remington ammo in your state for whitetail only a few states allow it. I would suggest 70-90 grains. I use Barnes Tsx 70 gr with excellent results, WI allows .22 centerfire rifle for whitetail.

Last edited: Sep 3, 2013

3. bigred61

bigred61 New Member

Thanks for the suggestion. In Idaho you can shoot Mule and white with .223.

4. kryptar19

kryptar19 New Member

If you are getting off the shelf ammo, get the 65gr Hornady whitetail. Best SP on the market, IMO.

5. Shade

Shade New Member

Cool beans.

I used to use a lot of Nosler Partitions, still a very good bullet.
    But I have really grown to like the Barnes TSX bullets for all
    my hunting needs, no tracking with them.

With good glass you can get out farther than 200 yds, if you have
    a flat top upper receiver. I will shoot at coyote at 300-400 yds.

6. nchunt101

nchunt101 New Member

Federal Fusion MSR .556 62 grain has casued a lot of DRT deer in NC

7. limbkiller

limbkiller New Member