Firearms Talk banner

What do you use to lube your AR Bolt?

6K views 34 replies 21 participants last post by  crockett007 
#1 ·
I'm still learning the AR15. I have been spraying it with alot of rem oil. Is there a better option for me. I want my toys to last ya know?

#5 ·
May want to look at some of the syn lub's. They are generally lighter visc and provide superior wear resistant (lub) with a thinner oil film. For a very light oil I use Amsoil MP. I have used it on all my AR's and AK's, bolt rifles and handguns over the past 6 years with no wear or tear or lubrication malfunctions. I have also used Tetra Lube with good results, as Slow mentioned.

AMSOIL MP Metal Protector and EXCELLENT LUBE FOR GUNS!! A synthetic, greaseless all-purpose lubricant that provides metal surfaces with a long-lasting film. It forms no gum or sludge. Its penetrating agents cut through rust and corrosion to allow free movement of hardware and high-friction parts.

• Lubricates metal surfaces
  • Cuts through rust
  • Protects electrical equipment
  • Resists moisture, even salt water
  • Excels in household applications
  • Sprays into hard-to-reach places
  • Excellent on all firearms and componentry

Jack

#7 ·
I've been using Break-Free CLP. Im almost out.
Someone use Synthetic motor oil? Jack maybe??
I think I read someone here recommend it.
Might just buy a quart of Mobil 1 next time.:)

#8 ·
Mobil1

Stop laughing. It works freakin' great. Just a little keeps that puppy very smooth and it doesn't gum up at all.

#13 ·
0-40 is what I use...same stuff I put in my car.

#14 ·
I'm as old-school as anyone here and if Rem-Oil isn't on my bench I need to find a 24hr sporting goods store.

With that said, Mobil 1.

Do you guys think the gun industry worked/spent as much time/$ finding a lube for a hot, carbon-deposited environment than the auto guys do for a number of reasons?