What do you consider essential to bolt rifle ownership?

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by gvcandyman, Apr 12, 2010.

1. gvcandyman

gvcandyman New Member

I am new to owning guns and am wondering what you consider to be essential equipment/accessories. Things I'm thinking about are gun lock, sling, snap caps, bipod, cleaning kit, vise, range bags. Anything else you think are necessities?

2. dunerunner

dunerunner New Member

Gun Safe, Cleaning equipment, Optics and Ammo.

3. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

A good set of hollow ground screwdrivers, so that you do not bugger up a screw head (mine are Chapman's)

Got a scope? Lens cloth/tissue. Without it, just clean the lens with 80 grit sandpaper- has same effect, just sooner.

Cleaning rod guide.

Good lubricant. Even bolt guns need a drop now and again.

Under cleaning equipment, don't forget a good chamber brush.

For a center fire. sooner or later, you will want the ultimate enhancement to accuracy- reloading equiment.

4. gvcandyman

gvcandyman New Member

Great thanks for all the input everyone. I really appreciate it.

5. amoroque

amoroque New Member

+1 on this.......many overlook the rod guide. I would say a good scope, a good cleaning kit and a rod guide are the most important 3 IMO.

6. cpttango30

cpttango30 New Member

It really depends on what you want to do with it.

If you want a varmint rifle that is only going to see time on a bench then I am going to have different requirments for that rifle over my deer rifle.

My deer rifle is a beat up old gun with a cheap ass scope on it that If I drop it I cold care less if it broke or didn't. It is tough ugly and it shoot 1" at 100 yards which is plenty good for deer at less than 200 yards.

For the basics I would say
    1. Safe place to store it. Weather it is a safe or gun locker.
    2. cleaning supplies solvent, patches, good 1 piece rod rod guide and lube at a min.
    3. A good soft case
    4. a better hard case