Well regulated militias the answer?

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by tiberius10721, Dec 19, 2012.

1. tiberius10721

tiberius10721 New Member

I've been thinking about this for quite a while now and I just want to run this by my fellow members here. I always hear the anti gun crown talk about how gun ownership was meant for well regulated militias. Now of course anyone who reads the second amendment knows this is not true. I was just wondering that If local gun clubs formed well regulated militias if it would be a way to protect our AR 15 type rifles and gun ownership rights. It would seem to me that if people pulled together as militias we would have a stronger legal argument in front of the supreme court. Any thoughts? Now people I'm not a lawyer I'm just a simple working man so if I got something wrong i apologize.

2. Jpyle

Jpyle New Member

Dont have to form anything...we the people are understood to BE the militia.

3. jcd390

jcd390 New Member

I thought about the same thing regarding "well regulated militias". This is what I came up with, the second amendment states: "A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, SHALL NOT BE INFRINGED."

So for all the folks that say that it was intended for Militia, why did they (our forefathers) use "the right of the people to keep and bear Arms" and NOT "the right of the Militia to keep and bear Arms"?

Anti-gun people are still trying to figure out how to answer me.

In regards to your question, I am sure that might be an option just not sure how that would work. Seems like either the local or state government would have to acknowledge them as a militia?

4. tiberius10721

tiberius10721 New Member