vortex strikefire or sparc?????

Discussion in 'Optics & Mounts' started by whiptail, Jun 17, 2012.

1. whiptail

whiptail New Member

I want to put a red dot on my ar15 (stag model 3) and would like to try one of the vortex scopes I just don't know whitch one to go with.what is the major differsnce between the vortex sparc and the strikefire? Anybody have a preference between the two and why??? I'm new to the red dot family and would appreciate any help with making a decision.

Thanx
    Bob

Happy fathers day to you dads..I spent the day with my son at the range today.

2. DanZZ

DanZZ New Member

I have had the vortex strike fire, not a bad optic for 150 bucks the lens covers are a bit tight though but they work. The sparc has a smaller tube and more limited view and the location of the controls don't help it out. So if it was between those 2 I would take the strike fire save 50 dollars and put it towards more ammo.

3. JonM

JonM Moderator

Ive got a sparc and a strikefire. For a rifle go with the strikefire. Easier to find the dot and you get a no poi shift change as needed red or green dot. Comes with 3 mounting options.

Sparc is lighter smaller dot but its harder to pick up in very bright daylight. Works good on a plinking handgun i like using it on my ruger mk3 22/45. Comes with almost as many extras as the strikefire.

Ive used both on my 458wimmag for 40 510grain loads at 2100fps and neither lost zero. Damn tough optics. Ive destroyed a nikon african monarch scope and its knocked the xhairs loose on a leupold vx7 with that rifle.

My vote on your application is the strikefire

4. whiptail

whiptail New Member

Thanx guys, I orderd the strikfire should be here any day!!!I plan on using it with a 45 degree rail mount I got from Yankee hill. Mounted next to my Nikon p223.

Thanks again
    Bob

5. DanZZ

DanZZ New Member

You should get a picture up when its all together

6. wyoprepper

wyoprepper New Member