Volunteered for police negotiator training

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by PrimePorkchop, Nov 17, 2013.

1. PrimePorkchop

PrimePorkchop New Member

So tomorrow I'll be going in to help my local PD train their hostage negotiators. I get the role of the bad guy that they have to try and talk down and this is my first time ever doing something like.

I've been researching it quite a bit, because I don't want to screw this up (I know some of these guys pretty well, and wouldn't want to let them down!)

Anybody here ever been involved in this? Got any advice for doing things right the first time around? =)

Last edited: Nov 17, 2013
  2. TheSadPanda

TheSadPanda New Member

Just watch The Negotiator with Samuel L. Jackson and you'll be fine :p. totally kidding, but really, I'm posting in here because I'm interested to know as well. BUMP!

3. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

ummm....act like a Bad Guy?:p

seriously, good luck and have fun!:D

4. KG7IL

KG7IL Active Member

Don't give in unless you get a ham sandwich.

5. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Went thru the FBI Negotiator course back about 1980.

Interesting course. Not going to give you pointers- except at some point, the negotiator will be considered to have failed, and then you get shot.:eek:

You might want to consider that. Will tell you this- 2 things you will never get- additional weapons and additional hostages.

6. Vikingdad

Vikingdad New Member

Sounds interesting. Let us know what happens (if you live:eek:)

7. KG7IL

KG7IL Active Member

He brings up a very good point. The best deal that you will ever get is the one you had before the whole incident occurred.

Things just can't get better. You might take out some hostages by stealing their ham sandwich, but in the end, it always hurts. (sendto:Slips)

8. Wiseman3

Wiseman3 New Member