Very very new to the AR

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by SmithKid308, May 28, 2012.

1. SmithKid308

SmithKid308 New Member

I'm very very very new to the AR world and I'm extramly lost in this new type of gun, well I had a delma that im sure that most of us have had the AK vs AR and decided to get both BUT decided to get the AR first because of the versatility and light weight. So that brings me to my first point 5.56 or .223 ? Mid length or carbine and how can I improve the gas system ? Well I hope I get a good response from you guys and I'm a very avid shooter and shoot around 2 times a week so thanks for the help to anyone who puts input

SmithKid

Ps ive only ever handled 1 and it was built for long range

Last edited: May 28, 2012
  2. Redleg

Redleg New Member

223 and 556 are essentially the same "caliber." 223 is the civilian version, which has a somewhat lighter charge than the military 556. Many or most civilian ARs will handle both. Some civilian 223 rifles are not designed to handle 556. It is nice to have a rifle that will handle 556 as this is often available as cheap surplus ammo.

Lots of other good info on this forum but beware of the strong opinions.

3. SmithKid308

SmithKid308 New Member

If I get the upper in 5.56 will it take .223 ?

4. billt

billt New Member

What type of shooting are you planning on doing with it? About how much are you willing to spend? Also, do you plan on shooting it with iron sights, or optics? If so what type of optics are you considering? Battle sights like Aimpoints or ACOGS, or a conventional scope? If you can answer any or all of these questions your choice can be more easily guided in the proper direction.

5. ScottA

ScottA FAA licensed bugsmasher Lifetime Supporter

5.56 will always take .223, but don't try it the other way around.

6. lbwar15

lbwar15 New Member