VA resident in FL

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by fit, Jun 6, 2013.

1. fit

fit New Member

Hello,

I'm a college student who has lived in FL for 3 years yet I am still a Virginia resident (insurance purposes). I'm looking to purchase my first firearm but I'm confused about how I can buy one.

Can a friend who is a FL resident purchase one and then sell it to me? Can a friend who is a VA resident purchase one and sell it to me? How about this FFL service?

What is the easiest/cheapest course of action? Looking to get a revolver for ~$300 total spent. Thanks.

2. SigArmored

SigArmored New Member

You may have to do an ffl transfer to Va. then pick up in Va then bring back with you to Fl. I'm not 100% on that but it couldn't hurt to run into you're lgs and ask.

Last edited: Jun 7, 2013

3. PanBaccha

PanBaccha New Member

Having a friend buy a firearm for you might border on the Straw Purchasing act, which is kind of straining understanding on both sides of the counter looking to make the deal. Consult your local gun show for precise details governing that. But I am sure there will be along shortly an array of members who could answer that for you.

4. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

If the transaction is considered a straw purchase, then your friend has made a false statement on a federal form (which could keep your stay in FL a little longer and effectively ban you from ever possessing a firearm).

There are legal ways to purchase in FL. The FLDE does have an 800 number. I suggest that you contact them. They are a good source for information.

Getting free advice from the internet is just as good as what you pay for, nothing.

5. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

As said- our legal advice is worth every penny you paid for it. Start by checking with Florida DoJ folks.