Firearms Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I like the older reloading manuals because they have lots of data that might not be found in newer books.

However, the older data in some situations is loaded super hot, starting loads are near max loads in some situations when compared to a newer book. Should I reduced the starting charge in an older manual by 10-15 percent to just be safe?

I’m new to reloading and want to keep my fingers, I’m also not looking for super hot loads either, accurate and fun shooting is all I want.

The older manuals in question are Lyman 45th and 47th editions

·
Premium Member
2,255 Posts
I don't know about those particular manuals. I would recommend starting with low pressure loads and working to the point you want to be at. Learn to see the signs of a high pressure load then back off. I'm getting ready to get back into reloading (if I can it's so crazy out there). I used to run as low power load as I could while being reasonable. For example, I shot .223 rounds in my 5.56/.223 guns. There's not enough difference unless hunting long distance and otherwise, you're just wearing out barrels and using more powder for nothing. In most cases a 223 will do what a 5.56 will do. For SD, definitely 5.56 but otherwise, lower pressure loads. You won't miss the bigger bang if you can even tell. There's another opinion.

·
Premium Member
3,082 Posts
Good advice SG but some powders can not be loaded light. Anybody can use older manuals but you should check it with modern loading data you can easily find on line . Western, Alliant and Hodgdon all have sites with modern reloading data. I printed my own manual for Western powder. Alliant sent me a free one.

·
Registered
3,583 Posts
I always load around 6 to test at 1/2 .
Powders do change even with the same name so it's best in my opinion to check the new & old data on the powder first & see if there is changes to the amount to use .

·