used ar-15 $850 good deal?

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by everclear151, Feb 12, 2011.

1. everclear151

everclear151 New Member

I'm new to ar-15 and I don't know too much about them but someone I know wants to sell an ar-15 with 20 inch chrome barrel and only 20-30 rounds have been through it. He built it himself and said he put over $1000 into it and asking $850 for it. Is this a good deal?

http://i746.photobucket.com/albums/xx108/allforgotten1/DSCN0961.jpg

2. dunerunner

dunerunner New Member

Not until after he and I have taken it to a gunsmith and the range in that order.

3. Shihan

Shihan Active Member Lifetime Supporter

[​IMG]

A little more info would be helpful.

4. everclear151

everclear151 New Member

5. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

+1 on that

6. everclear151

everclear151 New Member

7. everclear151

everclear151 New Member

8. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter

For $850, you can buy a pretty decent new entry level AR or you can build one if you are so inclined. Maybe I'm just old and mean, but I would not trust someone else's gun building skills. Not when there are good alternatives.

YMMV

9. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

You can get a new top shelf AR for $850.

I see that the upper reciever is a BCM. Was the upper assembled by BCM and he just put together the lower? Either way you can have a complete upper and lower built by BCM for $850.

10. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

You wouldn't trust one of my AR's CA?? That hurts bro. Right to the bone I tell you, right to the bone with that cut. :(

Ah well, screw your old Kalifornia Restricted ass, I build REAL AR's. :D

JD

11. spittinfire

spittinfire New Member Supporter