US supplied weapons to Mexico?

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by Anonymous_Coward, Mar 16, 2010.

1. Anonymous_Coward

Anonymous_Coward New Member

Hello all, I'm a newbie, and basically registered to ask a question that someone here may be able to answer. I've been trying to keep up with the news of the violence in Mexico (mostly because that's where I live), and I've noticed in documentaries and different news forums that they keep saying that the majority of weapons come from the US. I don't know if they are referring to legitimate imports, but the implication is that the narcos are all using US arms. I happen to know that the most common weapon used by the narcos is the AK-47 (called "cuerno de chivo"), and was wondering if they are even manufactured in the US. Does anybody know?

2. Jpyle

Jpyle New Member

The AK-47 is the single most mass produced firearm in the history of man. Why would anyone risk smuggling them across the US border when the Commies in South America are literally giving them away. What you read is BS designed to bolster the anti-gun zealots here in the US.

The unregulated sale of fully automatic weapons has been banned in the US for decades, your average drug cartel smuggler cannot just walk into Bubba's Gun Shop and order up a batch of fully auto AKs as the stories imply.

3. Anonymous_Coward

I know they are common, given the fact that they are reliable and fairly cheap. I didn't realize they were #1. I gather then that they are manufactured in the US. How hard are they to obtain?

Trust me, the people who take them into Mexico wouldn't be worried about any risk, at least with the Mexican authorities.

4. Gojubrian

Gojubrian New Member

5. jeepcreep927

jeepcreep927 New Member