Updrades to make an AR more reliable?

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by irockglock, Jun 19, 2012.

1. irockglock

irockglock New Member

Just picked up a brand new DPMS Oracle.
    I really want to personalize it with tacticool stuff but first I want to make it as reliable as it can be. Any suggestions on what I should do?
    I am an AR noob.
    Thanks

I just noticed I spelt upgrades wrong. My bad

Last edited: Jun 19, 2012
  2. powell0892

powell0892 New Member

I'm probably not knowledgeable enough to say much but I think that you will find that the things that will make your rifle more "reliable" will probably cost a little money, in saying that you may have been better of getting an over all more " reliable" rifle not trying to discourage the new rifle I think it's great I would say you may want to look at a new bolt and/or carrier such as a dd or BCM I'm not really sure I'm qualified to say much these guys know much more than me! Congrats on new gun!

3. Jpyle

Jpyle New Member

Shooting it a few hundred times to get a feel for it and to diagnose any performance issues is the first step. If there are no feeding, ejecting, or cycling issues you're good to go. Most reliability issues will involve feeding (mags) or cycling (gas system and correct buffer). Stocks, foregrigs, handguards and optics have little or no impact on mechanical performance and reliability.

4. Sniper03

Sniper03 Supporting Member Supporter

IROC,
    You rather have a good dependable AR or you do not. Mostly depends on manufacturer and quality of parts and production procedures. In general if a company builds a good AR and you keep the bolt carrier and bolt lubed properly it should be reliable. You should not have to do anything to a good AR to make it dependable. If it isn't it needs to be returned to the manufacturer. Unfortunately some are not of the quality of others.
    But the Magazine is the number one cause of AR malfunctions! :)

5. AgentTikki

AgentTikki New Member