Tumbling Time

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by Search13, Jul 26, 2010.

1. Search13

Search13 New Member

Is there a general rule of thumb for the amount of time the brass is tumbling.
    Do you let it tumble for hours - overnight or until the brass looks clean and shiny?
    I'm a reloading newbie and I am reading the ABC's but I have not seen anything written about how long you let the brass tumble.
    Should the media be changed if it sat in a tumbler without use for several years?

Thanks
    Joe

2. Fuzzball

Fuzzball New Member

"Is there a general rule of thumb for the amount of time the brass is tumbling."

No. It's a results thing, tumble 'till you like it. Or overnight. Or a week.

I usually swap out my media (fine cob) every three or four years if it needs it or not.

3. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

Fresh media will clean very well in an hour or two. Older, dirty media may take overnight.

If the media has been sitting for a few years, it may need a re-charge. Look at Lyman Turbocharger, Flitz, or Midway polish.

4. JonM

JonM Moderator

i let it run about two hours enoughtime to get the yuck off the cases so my dies dont get messed up. i could care less if the cases are shiney or not, they only gotta be clean.

5. cpttango30

cpttango30 New Member

I just let them run till I remember to turn them off. Some times it is 2 hours others it is 3 days. I tell you what that 3 day brass shines like no other.

Just guess at it. If you take it out and don't like the look then toss it back in.

6. mrm14

mrm14 Active Member

Tumble it as long as you want. I usuallly go over night and even sometimes 2 days. The longer you vibratory clean it the better it looks and seems to resize with less effort. Have had no problems with getting quite a few reloads out of long time vibratory cleaning of brass.

7. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member