trying to decided on a target rifle for 100-500 yards

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by NewGuy89, Jan 16, 2012.

1. NewGuy89

NewGuy89 New Member

I'm brand new to the site and i would say i am somewhat new to firearms the only rifle i own is a mosin nagant. i live in Ohio and its somewhat hard to find places to shoot further than 200 yards. with my mosin i can shoot a 6 inch circle at 100 yards with iron sights. I want a newer bolt action rifle. I hate things that feel cheap but i don't want to spend thousands of dollars. It seems that the Remington 700p is real nice but i would like some advice from people that know more than me. I don't have my mind set on the 700 but i don't know anything else. i do like heavier guns though. i plan on putting a scope on it but i will get to that once i pick out the rifle. Any suggestions or thoughts on the 700p would be nice and appreciated. thank you

2. vincent

vincent New Member

That's a great question. Stop by the intro thread and say hey when you can. Lots of Mosin fans here, you'll fit right in. I personally can't give you any input, someone will be by shortly to help out I'm sure. Welcome to FTF!!:cool:

3. willfully armed

willfully armed New Member

Savage honestly is the most affordable accuracy.

I bought a 110 30-06 for my brother. With a craptastic 3-9x32 Simmons, I easily had numerous sub moa groups with federal champion 150gr.

I've had 700's and a 710, but they weren't as accurate as the 110's.

4. rugernut

rugernut New Member

The ruger hawkeye rifles are the most reliable bolt action in my opinion theve got the Mauser type extracter but if your looking for realy accurate I would go with savage

5. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

what caliber would you like to shoot? what is your budget to spend on a rifle and scope? what is the intended use for the rifle? hunting or target shooting?