Trap Shooters ?

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by Harleygunner, Jun 4, 2012.

1. Harleygunner

Harleygunner New Member

A fellow retiree and I recently did some trap shooting, he used to shoot years ago, and I'm just learning. I did shoot a few rds of skeet many yrs ago, but not trap. To make long story shorter, we've both joined a local skeet & trap club, and since my old mod 50 20 ga Winchester wasn't up to the task, I bought a new CZ o/u Canvasback.
    I didn't want to spend a lot of money until I am more into the sport, (in case it don't work out). Anyone familiar with CZ's ?
    I researched what I could find, and it seems these Turkish made guns have good reviews. It seems to be of pretty good quality, good fit and finish. It shoots well too. I got it at Cabela's, $600.

Attached Files:

• cz.png
      cz.png
      File size:
      29.1 KB
      Views:
  2. cottontop

cottontop Guest

It should be a good shotgun. I have a DeHaan which is made in Turkey and the quality is really good. I think there is nothing wrong with Turkish guns.
    cottontop

3. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

My buddy just picked up a dehaan for skeet. Nice gun.

4. unclebear

unclebear New Member

not to be an *** but most of shooting clays is the person behind the gun not always the gun but sometimes it can be. I use to shoot with a winchester single shot full choke and didn't do to well as there was my uncle who had a $800 benelli and he couldn't hit the broad side of a barn if he was kissing it.

5. Gonzilla

Gonzilla Active Member

Yeah, some people have problems w skeet shooting. Picking your head up or failure to keep the barrel moving are very common. Good equipment makes the job easier and great equipment is a joy to use.

Baretta, Browning etc, are expensive but they hold their value.

I say, be different and shoot a Rem 1100 28 ga Sporting Edition. Great for skeet, not sure about trap but very easy on the shoulder.

6. Harleygunner