Training to shoot with weak side hand.

Discussion in 'Training & Safety' started by Ghost1958, Dec 6, 2017.

1. Ghost1958

Ghost1958 Well-Known Member

Let me preface this post that though I've worked with several people over the years, teaching them to shoot etc, I am NOT a professional trainer nor have I ever charged anyone to teach them to use a gun in SD. Not have any interest in ever doing so.:D

Back to the topic.
    Do you practice shooting with your weak side hand?
    JMO, but one should practice drawing and shooting with their weak hand at least enough to get consistent hits to COM at 10 to 15 yrds.

Granted the probability of ever being attacked AND having your strong side arm or hand disabled is slim.
    However other reasons one may have to depend on their weak side hand to shoot are much more likely.
    Injury, disease of some types like arthritis, etc can render one fairly helpless as far as depending on one's sidearm for SD.
    And unless one is naturally ambidextrous it can take a fair amount of practice time and ammo to become consistently able to make effective hits on an attacker.

During that learning phase Murphy says is exactly when you'll find yourself in a situation that you need your gun but can't effectively use it.

JMO but it's better to develope the ability to shoot weak side while one still has effective use of their strong side hand and arm.

I've found over the years it's easier to simply shoot one handed weak side than to try to use ones strong hand as a support.. and easier to teach as well.

Also it's natural for your weak hand to lean the pistol over toward the center of one's body a bit, compared to one's strong side arm. Just let it do so.

It's not hard to learn to shoot weak side but it does take a bit of time and shooting to develope .

Starting at 5 yards to get the feel of drawing and aiming and gradually stretching out to 10 or 15 yrds over time one can be making good hits at decent range fairly soon.

:D