Total noob here

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by TankTop, Aug 27, 2012.

1. TankTop

TankTop Well-Known Member Supporter

Hi all, new member, new to guns... Mostly... We recently moved from communist California to the land of the free. My wife and I would like some personal protection firearms in the house so I am thinking a Glock 19 and a mossberg 20 guage tactical shotgun. Going to sign up for some classes at the local gun store first!
    But on to this forum, I really want an AR. I want to go cheap to begin with and I have done lots of research. I know I won't be putting insane amounts of ammo through it, so how important is a chrome barrel? I know I don't want a carbon model anything, I don't think it will hold up over the years (correct me if I'm wrong). From my research any of the decent manufacturers can be upgraded forever. If anyone has any other suggestions of I should look for, please let me know. Lastly, I think I want a detachable carry handle. I should probably learn to shoot with the iron sights before I get fancy.

2. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

Welcome to FTF. What's you idea of cheap?

3. TankTop

$600-$750,don't want to go over that.

4. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

You're probably looking at a s&w then.

5. JonM

JonM Moderator

yup SW MP15 is a good starter gun. their lowers are decent enough and you can always have new uppers mailed to your door if you decide to upgrade to a more rugged build.

6. TankTop

I'm not too concerned with brands except for which ones are most easily upgraded. I know they are supposed to be universal but I'm betting some will be better than others, ie, parts don't quite fit perfect.

7. purehavoc

purehavoc New Member

I your price range this is where I would go . I own 2 of these. both very accurate and reliable . This particular rifle is ready to shoot all you need to add is ammo comes with rear magpul sight and 1/30 rd mag .