Tips to improve shooting?

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by NewGunz, Oct 1, 2010.

1. NewGunz

NewGunz New Member

I got a SIG P226 at the beginning of June and I've probably been to the range 25-30 times now since then. This past month I've had to focus my time and money elsewhere so I haven't been able to go. I finally went the other day and I was sooo rusty... Is this normal? Also, my shooting range is a very good range and they do offer some classes. But I feel like I'm past the basics and I'm wondering if I should invest in a class or just try and get some one on one instruction. Any tips? Thanks.

2. NGIB

NGIB New Member

Shooting well is IMHO a perishable skill - but it tends to comes back quickly. The caveat is if you are well grounded in fundamentals like stance, grip, and trigger control. When I've had a long layoff it will take me an hour or so to shake off the rust - but I've been shooting handguns for many years. If you are relatively new to the sport, some professional instruction is always a good thing as you may need some help with the fundamentals...

3. Recon 173

Recon 173 New Member

Shooting ability is a perishable art. You have got to practice it over and over to stay current on it. So, yes, this is not unusual at all.

The 2 key things to always remember about shooting are:

1. Concentrate on the front sight.
    2. Slowly press the trigger. When the gun goes off, it should surprise you.

If you follow those 2 rules, you'll pretty much always be on target.

4. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

+1 on the above, but allow me to reiterate that there are 4 steps to shooting:
    Sight alignment
    Breath control
    Trigger pull
    Follow through

5. gorknoids

gorknoids New Member