Thunderbolts

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by TimelyMeerkat, Aug 1, 2009.

1. TimelyMeerkat

TimelyMeerkat New Member

I am new to firearms. I bought ammo for the first time today remington thunderbolt high velocity .22LR round nose cartriges in a pack of 50 for $2.00. I looked at several forums and see the thunderbolts are no good. Is this true and would the bullets destroy my new handgun.

2. cpttango30

cpttango30 New Member

They will not hurt a thing. They are just the most unreliable of the bulk 22 lr ammo out there. QC is not top on the list on the thunder bold line.

3. Hawg

Hawg Active Member

Take them firmly in hand and go to the nearest large lake and give them a mighty heave towards the middle. You'll get a lot more satisfaction and less aggravation from them that way. Might want to tie a five dollar bill to them so you can say you actually threw something away.

For cheap plinking try the 550 round Federal bulk packs.

4. TimelyMeerkat

TimelyMeerkat New Member

Thanks for the help I will buy some of the federal ones.

5. Yunus

Yunus New Member

There not going to hurt your gun so break it in with them or try to trade them or something. Just be prepared for jams more often, that's my complaint about them.

6. Tueur de mouches

Tueur de mouches New Member

The Thunderbolts are not very accurate, it dirty the semi-auto weapons, powder residue and emplombage barrel (I have a CZ452, Ruger MKIII). My favourites ammo for my Ruger are Winchester Laser.
    I remember having fired Lapua Magazine 22 (canned 500) which worked to perfection for cheap

7. cpttango30

cpttango30 New Member

All but the top end of the ammo spectrum in rimfire is going to be dirty.
    I just picked up a $20 box of Eley Match ammo the other day.

I wish I had enough to bet all 40 boxes of it they had on hand.

8. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member