Thoughts on the .25 Calibers.

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by cottontop, May 4, 2013.

1. cottontop

cottontop Guest

Well, I am just about sick of all of the .243 vs. larger caliber arguements. I don't want to start another arguement, but this could get ugly, I suppose. My question is mainly directed to the anti .243 for deer guys. So what are your thoughts on the dual purpose (varmint/deer) .25 calibers; i.e., the .250 Savage, .257 Roberts, and the .25-06? You experienced guys can probably tell where I am going with this.
    ct

2. DavidB

DavidB New Member

I'm a fan of the 257 weatherby, and although its larger then you questioned, I want to get my hands on a 264 win mag one day, they are just so hard to find. I have no experience with the 25-06 or 257 Roberts though.

3. Anna_Purna

Anna_Purna New Member

25.06 user here. My favorite caliber of choice. I've taken a spike wapiti with it, (120 grain Nosler partition) and bullet placement is a must. Light on the side of Wapiti, but great for pronghorn, deer, wolves, and anything else that moves and is under 400-500 lbs.
    Resizing 270 and 30-06 down to 25 caliber makes it an added bonus.
    And with this scope, I can see the moons of Jupiter, literally.
    [​IMG]

Last edited: May 4, 2013
  4. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

most of the 25 calibers, the recoil is fairly mild and manageable. most have pretty decent or above decent accuracy and are quite good for smaller to medium sized came.

IMO, the 25 calibers are a better choice for deer sized game than the 243/6mm calibers. that's just my opinion. between the 243 or a 25-06, i'd go to the 25-06 first and the 243 second.

i currently own a 25-06, but owned a 257 Roberts years ago. now as much as i like the 25-06, i actually like the 257 Roberts more.

5. Sniper03

Sniper03 Supporting Member Supporter

Cottontop,