thinking of a new handgun

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by kingcooley, Feb 14, 2012.

1. kingcooley

kingcooley New Member

I'm looking at buying my first handgun and someone told me to get a highpoint 45 any advice

2. MrWray

MrWray New Member

What is your spending limit and what do you plan to use the gun for?

3. Powersportgiant

Powersportgiant New Member

I'm not an expert by any means. But if you have more money to spend, get something, anything else.

4. Charyoutree

Charyoutree New Member

I have no first-hand experience with Highpoints, but what I've seen and heard is that they are not too easily field stripped (for cleaning). In the concealed handgun safety class I went through this weekend there were 5 or 6 people there with Highpoints that had no idea how to take them apart. The instructor had them all come up to the front table and showed them how all at one time. It took 15 or 20 minutes and my impression was "Why go through that?"

A bit more money, but "newbie-friendly", I suggest a Glock. Easy to maintain (break down and clean) and can take a beating and still go bang. Just by reading through the owners manual I learned how o field strip and clean it in about 10 minutes. With only a little practice, I can have the gun ready for cleaning in less than 15 seconds and have it cleaned and reassembled in about 3 or 4 minutes (a few minutes longer if I've been shooting dirty ammo).

That being said, go handle different guns at your local gun store and find out which you like best--what fits your hand best, which has the right weight and balance for you, which one you like the look of best. A handgun is a very personal tool and you have to find what works best for you.

Good luck and good shooting!

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? (Who watches the watchers?) --"Satires", Juvenal (Roman poet)

5. kingcooley

kingcooley New Member

I em looking at the xdm 45 as well but it will take a bit longer to save for it

6. ScottA