Thinking about joining the high school football team

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by beastmode986, Aug 13, 2012.

1. beastmode986

beastmode986 New Member

Well im thinking about joing my high schools football team. Im not big (5'9 but im skinny) I have been working out and stuff but im not good at running long distances but im pretty fast for short distances. I only weigh 120lbs though and this is going to be my freshman year, im pretty strong though but im still not sure if i want to join. What do you guys think? What excercises should i do?

2. kycol

kycol New Member

Running and more running, lots of leg work outs. Also lots of stretching and more running. Practice running falling hard and getting up running.

3. dog2000tj

dog2000tj New Member

you only live once ... do it. Play football, wrestle, lacrosse, whatever sports you can for every season ;)

as for exercises - calisthenics and plyometrics, can't beat em'. Forget weight training - how many weight lifting movements do you see being applied in sports? About the only beneficial weight lifting exercise for sports would be dead lifting - it's a full body workout (be sure to protect your lower back and use good form, strength will come in time). Also, one of the most undervalued aspects to physical fitness - stretching.

I was 5'-8" 145 when I started HS ... 4yrs later I left at 6'-2" at 192, 6%bf, fastest and strongest in the school ;)

watch her videos - [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wQ9EsucslK8[/ame]

4. beastmode986

beastmode986 New Member

Ok , Im going to join. Ill let you guys know how it works out

5. Zombiegirl

Zombiegirl New Member

Colleges don't only look at grades. They want to see that you took an active role in school. Joining a few sports is always a good idea.

6. tjacobson

tjacobson Member