The perfect lightweight rifle

Discussion in 'Hunting Forum' started by nikoko199, Apr 20, 2011.

1. nikoko199

nikoko199 New Member

I am new to the hunting experience and looking for a lightweigth rifle that will give me no problems on long hikes. I have heard, for an all around caliber, to go with a .270 or a .270 WSM. Being new i am not sure of all the different calibers. My shots are going to be between 250-450 yards. Any suggestions?

2. lonyaeger

lonyaeger New Member

What is it you're going to be hunting? In Wyoming, it could be anything from prairie dogs to elk (to bears?), so that would be good to know.

3. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

.270 is a lot of round.

That means a long action boltgun. To shave weight you can purchase one with a lightweight synthetic stock and a thinner than normal barrel profile ( referred to as pencil thin or just pencil barrels ).

A wide, heavily padded sling will help with weight distribution.

What are you going after, animal wise??

And how good of a shot are you that you are considering 450 yard shots? :confused:

Can you surely and effectively dispatch said animal in a clean and efficient manner at that distance to insure it does not suffer?

JD

4. jeepcreep927

jeepcreep927 New Member

As JD stated, you're going to end up with a long action if you go with a .270 which equates to more weight. I n my opinion (repeat, in MY opinion) the short mags, super short mags, super duper short mags etc. don't do anything that a plain Jane old fashioned "traditional" round won't do. I'd look to something in 6.5mm or 7mm caliber for the ranges you are mentioning.

Those calibers have the best selection of bullets with good sectional density, which in turn equates to good ballistic coefficient.