The dick Act of 1902?

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by WARFAB, Jun 27, 2013.

1. WARFAB

WARFAB New Member

2. Lessdragon

Lessdragon New Member

You should look for the article about snooping snopes, I think you'll get it if you Google "Snopes gets snopes"

3. JonM

JonM Moderator

snopes is not a valid source of information. its a left wing liberal run site with a political agenda. the myth is "snopes tells the truth about things..."

its like using the national enquirer as a source.

4. WARFAB

WARFAB New Member

Interesting. I'm not a lawyer, but my reading of the articles on the Dick act and the snopes article "refuting" it's claim, I think I can see a little bias. Snopes claims that the Dick act does nothing to declare everyone has a personal right to firearms. But, the Dick act does appear to define "militia" more broadly than many gun control advocates would like. It's not any kind of a slam dunk, but it seems a valid rebuttal to anyone who claims the second amendment only applies to people in an organized fighting force.

Any idea why I can't copy and paste from Snopes?

5. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

As a legislatively enacted law, it can be repealed or supersceded by subsequent legislation just as a SCOTUS decision is valid only until the SCOTUS rules on the topic again.

6. Dearhunter

Dearhunter Supporting Member Supporter

Snopes to the truth, is like botulism is to canned soup!!

7. Chainfire

Chainfire Well-Known Member Supporter

Here is a few laws that are still on the books in my home state. They are not enforced, and nobody really whines about it:

**Women may be fined for falling asleep under a hair dryer, as

can the salon owner.

**A special law prohibits unmarried women from parachuting

on Sunday or they risk arrest, fine, and/or jailing.

**If an elephant is left tied to a parking meter, the parking fee

has to be paid just as it would for a vehicle.