the 1911,it indeed aperantly isnt perfect

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by REDMIST89, May 22, 2012.

1. REDMIST89

REDMIST89 New Member

this most likely will get me **** from the hordes of 1911 fans but i found this on youtube n found it interesting,not trying to troll(i think i used that in right context) or start sh!t :),im a big 1911 fan,just cant afford one haha

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-WhOCoQfjw&feature=related"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-WhOCoQfjw&feature=related[/ame]

Last edited: May 22, 2012
  2. BillM

BillM Active Member Supporter

Yawn. This BS has been around for YEARS. So far has ZERO traction. If you think it has
    merit, just grind the end of the slide stop pin down so it's flush with the frame. So far I
    haven't seen any manufacturers doing it. Move along---nothing to see here.

3. BlueTurf

BlueTurf New Member

Exactly. I have never heard of this being a real issue. I have been shooting my 1911 for more than 30 years and have never seen this happen with myself or any other 1911 shooter.

4. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

I would point out the barrel bushing as a design flaw before the takedown pin. If the bushing is too loose you lose accuracy, too tight and sustained fire causes ceasing.
    Personally never had an issue with either.

5. Overkill0084

Overkill0084 Active Member

Yep, a fatal flaw of the same magnitude that Dateline NBC discovered with GM pickups. At least special effects & pyrotechnics weren't required in this instance
    Has anyone in the real world ever had a problem with this? I assume that anything is possible, I'm just not aware of any real issues.

FWIW, nothing is perfect.

6. trip286

trip286 New Member

7. PlaysWithZombies

PlaysWithZombies New Member

I guess since it has such a fatal design flaw i'll have to trade my 1911 in. :rollseyes:
    i've also never heard of anyone encountering this issue in the real world.