Technical armor

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by thetechnicalguy, Aug 2, 2011.

1. thetechnicalguy

thetechnicalguy New Member

Hello everyone.
    I am here because of a "conceptual" project of mine.
    I have a project regarding a DIY "technical" (you know,a pickup truck with a machinegun mounted on top of it).
    Taking into consideration that I am not very good at physics and was not able to get any valuable information elsewhere on the internet,
    I would like to ask you about it's armor.
    Considering that usually in the type of situation technicals are used you don't really have access to composite armor or RHA (rolled homogenous armor) steel (that are used for modern armored vehicles) I thought whether or not you could use regular steel.
    Sure,it would probably be really heavy and blah blah blah but I just wanted to know if it could work.
    So I would greatly appreciate it if anyone could bring up any info about regular steel vs RHA or composite,e.g. RHA plate of X thickness is approximately equal to regular steel plate of Y thickness,etc..
    Thank you very much!!!

2. moonpie

moonpie New Member

Last edited: Aug 2, 2011

3. Gordo323

Gordo323 New Member

I hope your project remains a "conceptual" project!
    I am not a metallurgist, so the only advice I have is to introduce yourself in the introductions thread.
    You joined a great forum though!

4. JonM

JonM Moderator

plate steel is a lot heavier than you think and a lot more difficult to work and mount on vehicles. there is a reason most ww2 tanks looked like boxes...

pirated from a metalworking forum:

thickness(in decimal format, ie .25) times width in inches times length in inches times .2836
    a 12x12 1/2" plate
    .5 x 12 x 12 x .2836= 20.4192lbs

Last edited: Aug 2, 2011
  5. usmcprofessional

usmcprofessional New Member