Teal hunting what kind of ammo?

Discussion in 'Hunting Forum' started by darthjkf, Sep 12, 2013.

1. darthjkf

darthjkf New Member

I'm going teal hunting on Sunday with my Mossberg 500c 20 gauge. This is my first time to duck hunt, so what kind of ammo should I get?

2. nchunt101

nchunt101 New Member

3. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

Teal are small ducks that are a blast to shoot. If you expect larger ducks to be mixed with the teal use steel #4 Teal only steel #6. I would just ask the person who is going to accompany you.

4. powg

powg New Member

teal

with the 20 ga 2 3/4 or 3'' # 5 steel if you can find it .# 6 steel may be more common in a 20 ga . the main thing is choice of choke and the set -up of how your going to hunt them . teal are small ,very fast and may decoy as a single ,but usually in small groups 2-5 birds . most will come in at a very low angle about 2-6 foot above water ,which in early / low light makes them disappear against the vegetative background . I would start with an improved cyl choke out 20-25 yrds . arrange a dozen decoys where you have 3 groups of 4 ,with an area between them for teal to land . Remember to "LEAD" and keep swinging.... bring lots of shells! good luck

5. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

I never have been duck hunting with decoys, dog and a call. Pass shooting is my only experience. Good places to pass shoot are easy for me to scout in my everyday activities. For the novice shooter pass shooting might turn out to be more productive. To be a successful pass shooter you only have to be in the right place at the right time. Just some limbs with leaves that match the season work just fine as a blind.

6. jpattersonnh

jpattersonnh Active Member