"Tactical" Scope Needed?

Discussion in 'Optics & Mounts' started by BlindGoldfish, Jul 17, 2011.

1. BlindGoldfish

BlindGoldfish New Member

I have a Savage 10FCP-K on order and am trying to decide on a scope.

I will be using the gun solely for target shooting. I anticipate starting in the 400-600 yard range, with the goal to get consistent at 800-1000 yards eventually.

Since I'm just getting into rifles and long range shooting (am primarily a pistol shooter currently), I'm not sure what I should go with in terms of a scope. I have about $600 I can spend on a scope, but I'm thinking maybe start with a $300 scope until I get good at 400 yard shots and in maybe a year upgrade.

So would it make my life easier to have a scope that has knobs for MOA/mil adjustments on it, or a more traditional "hunting" scope?

Of the two examples, which would suit me better? Thanks!

Cabela's: Burris Fullfield II Riflescope

Bushnell Elite 3200 Tactical Rifle Scope 10x 40mm 1/10 Mil Adjustments Mil-Dot Reticle Matte - MidwayUSA

2. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

I have a Burris scope and like it just fine, it is a 3x9x40 Fullfield II and it is a fine hunting scope. I am sure Burris makes something that would work for you.

3. mrm14

mrm14 Active Member