Swiss 1889 sporter carbine

Discussion in 'Curio & Relic Discussion' started by angryhart, May 29, 2013.

1. angryhart

angryhart New Member

I'm new to this so I hope I'm posting this in the right place. I have a Schmidt-rubin 1889 sporterized carbine. I've looked thru every possible place for ammo for it but no luck. Modern 7.5 is no good as the bolt will become a face torpedo. Heard 30-30 rebarrelling is option. Anyone?

2. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

3. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

And where ARE my manners? Welcome to the forum! When you get a chance, drop by the intro thread and say howdy.

4. nitestalker

nitestalker New Member

If you hand load the GP-90 {7.5X53.5} can easily be made trimming the GP-11{7.5X55} to the GP-90 length and using the GP-90 loading data. :)

5. angryhart

angryhart New Member

Good info c3. But I think that reloading is too precsion for me. I just don't trust myself to do it. I have noone who is set up for it either. You bet heard of someone rebarrelling?

6. angryhart

angryhart New Member

It has a stamp in the receiver that says gp-11. Would that mean mean it was proofed for 7.5x55 or would that have been the work of someone just thinking "Swiss rifle.... Takes gp-11 ammo..." Either way I'm not gonna try it. Any idea of what it would be worth? I'm assuming probably not a lot because hand loading takes time and skill and there isn't ammo for it. Sorry to keep beating a dead horse. I'm just a big fan of the old warhorses and the like. I just can't see this nice little carbine as a safe queen or wall hanger...

7. nitestalker

nitestalker New Member

The Swiss 1896/11 was chambered in the 7.5X55.:)

8. angryhart

angryhart New Member

So I took a look at an empty 7.65x53 mauser casing. Very similar. It chambered, pin strikes primer, and ejected. Can the brass be fire formed from these, or do I have a paperweight.

9. Polock

Polock New Member