Suppressor Approved

Discussion in 'NFA/Class 3 & FFL Discussion' started by Gundog94, Mar 24, 2011.

1. Gundog94

Gundog94 New Member

I sent in my paperwork for a suppressor (Suppressed Armament Systems) in the 3rd week of December and found out yesterday that it had been approved on Monday 3/21. The suppressor has been sitting at the dealer's shop next to my workplace since December. So close yet so far! I sent the upper of a Ruger Mark III to a buddy of mine to get threaded and it is done also. I'll let you all know how it works out after I get it put together and fire it. I'm excited after a 3 month wait! :D

2. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member

CONGRATULATIONS! That's good news.

But, as always, I have a question. I am new to guns and trying to learn. Why would you want to put a suppressor on a .22 pistol. I thought suppressors were more for larger caliber pistols, but then, I don't really know. :)

3. Gundog94

Gundog94 New Member

Because it is CHEAP and quiet fun. Suppressed .22's are very quiet when compared to the larger calibers. The suppressors are generally cheaper too.

4. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member

Thank you for your explanation.

5. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

Congratulations! I am waiting on my choice of can to be manufactured and sent to my dealer where I have a deposit and THEN I can fill out the necessary paperwork and begin the wait.

Looking forward to seeing the finished product!

JD

6. Gundog94

Gundog94 New Member

I'll post pics when it's fully assembled.

7. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

*drools* Nice!!

8. andrewdixon54

andrewdixon54 New Member

how can i go about modifying a 1911???

9. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

You need a custom fit, elongated, threaded barrel. Most suppresors have a reverse thread, so it's not a matter of just getting a barrel and threading it in your garage.

What kind of 1911 you got Playa??:cool:

10. doctherock

doctherock New Member