Support your Independent Dealers

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by Tackleberry1, Mar 17, 2010.

1. Tackleberry1

Tackleberry1 New Member

I'm putting my point of view out there for consideration and feedback. I see much discussion about the great deals to be found on-line, or how much Big Box Store A undercuts the small local gun dealer and I must say, it worries me.

First off, I'm not a dealer, I manage commercial construction projects for a living, but I refuse to buy guns from any Big Box chain stores and gladly pay 5% more for the personal service I get at my local, INDEPENDENT, FFL dealer. In fact I'd be embarrased to ask him to handle the paperwork on an internet purchase unless it was something extremely rare that he could not order for me.

I certainly remember more frugal times and respect everyones right to find thier best deal but I'd ask you all to consider two events that opened my eyes.

Event 1. K Mart used to be the largest retailer of guns and ammo in the country but some hi profile mass shootings and a little nudge from our pal Rosie Odonell back in the 90's got America's largest gun dealer to stop selling guns or ammo! I've not spent a penny in a K Marty since and hope to see them die a corporate death.

Event 2. Oregon & Washington used to have a fantastic sporting goods/automotive chain called GI Joes. No one could beat Joes on Long gun pricing and despite technically being a Box, they had some fairly knowledgeable guys behind the gun counter. The current recession has taken them completely out of business. Stores shuttered, hundreds out of work.

My point here is that we can not count on anyone large enough to have shareholders or even large enough to get overextended financially. Publically traded companies can decide in an instant to stop selling any product based on nothing more than that day's political hot button, IE, K Mart and now Wal Mart in many locations.