Suitable slugs for H&R Pardner Pump Protector?

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by Inyaface13, Oct 18, 2014.

1. Inyaface13

Inyaface13 New Member

I am still fairly new to shooting and about 2 years ago I picked up a H&R Pardner Pump Protector which is the Remington 870 clone..and I love this gun so much and it is so fun to shoot, but sadly I have only put a handful of buckshot and about 200 shells of game load through it. I have been wanting to fire a slug from this gun for the longest time, but due to my lack of gun knowledge I wasn't sure the right type of slug to use. The shotgun has a 18.5 inch smooth cylinder bore, but I don't know enough about slugs to just go firing them off..Where should I start looking for a solid slug that is suited for my shotgun?

2. rn-cindy

rn-cindy Well-Known Member

If you have a smooth barrel...you want a rifled slug...Then let-er-rip...disturb the peace...lol

3. rn-cindy

rn-cindy Well-Known Member

And welcome to FTF.......

4. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

Federal Tru Ball slugs usually shoot best from smooth bore shotguns. I have very good luck with Winchester Super X slugs.

5. Inyaface13

Inyaface13 New Member

Thank you very kindly! :) and thanks for the response & help! I had seen a few people say rifled slugs was for smooth barrels, but needed a last opinion before I gave it a whirl lol

I will more than likely pick up a box of these two first to give them a try. My friend gave me a few Winchester PDX1 Defender slugs and I think I may have gathered the courage through this post to try them as well. Thanks!

6. RKB

RKB Well-Known Member

You will likely find that your gun shoots some particular brand better than others. The saboted slugs generally shoot better out of a dedicated slug barrel, though. Try whatever you can find, you're not going to hurt the gun.

7. JTJ

JTJ Well-Known Member Supporter